The Art of Collaboration

by robin hilton

I’ve been working off and on with a friend of mine on some music. We’ve both been trying to write songs on our own and while I’ve come up with a few things I’m happy with, I’m the most surprised by the work we’ve done by collaborating.

My friend wrote a spare, country-flavored tune called “Imitators.” To him it was an intimate, reflective, mostly upbeat meditation on our search for identity and meaning. But I saw the potential for a lot of darkness. So I produced a completely different take on the song, taking his stripped-down, swinging tune and turning into a borderline creepy, electro-pop song with a wash of fuzzy guitars.

“Imitators” Before (original version by Mike Katzif):

“Imitators” After:

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

